UGC Full Form

By | September 29, 2019
UGC Full Form

UGC: University Grants Commission | UGC Full Form

The expanded form of UGC is the University Grants Commission. It is an organization that takes care of all rules, regulations and the standards of the University of India.


UGC headquarters are in New Delhi and it also has six regional centers in Bhopal, Pune, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Guwahati, and Bangalore.



It was set up by the Indian Union Government in the year 1956. The main aim of establishing UGC was to maintain the standards of higher education. IT helps in providing recognition to the universities of India. Moreover, UGC also provides funds to such recognized universities and colleges.

Professional Councils

Not only CSIR, but UGC also conducts Net for appointments in colleges as well as universities. According to UGC, it is mandatory to teach at the graduate level and Post Graduation level since the year 2009. In addition, Ph.D. holders are given relaxation of 5 %.

The sixteen autonomous statutory institutions are regulated by UGC. They are as follows:-

  • All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE)
  • Distance Education Council (DEC)
  • Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR)
  • Bar Council of India (BCI)
  • National Council for Teacher Education (NCTE)
  • Rehabilitation Council of India (RCI)
  • Medical Council of India (MCI)
  • Pharmacy Council of India (PCI)
  • Indian Nursing Council (INC)
  • Dental Council of India (DCI)
  • Central Council of Homoeopathy (CCH)
  • Central Council of Indian Medicine (CCIM)
  • Rehabilitation Council
  • National Council for Rural Institutes
  • State Councils of Higher Education
  • Council of Architecture

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *